Hunters Hill was named after Governor John Hunter and was first settled in the 1830s.
Hunters Hill played an important role for the early settlers as Australia’s first bushrangers called the area “home”.
Mary Reiby was one of Hunters Hill’s first residents. Well known for appearing on the Australian $20 note Mary was transported Australia for stealing a horse. Mary Reiby gained income from commercial shipping and land interests, she built a cottage that would be later known as “Fig Tree House”.
French merchant Didier Joubert purchased a farm in 1847 and began building a series of stylish houses that were the basis of the “French Village”. A house was built in 1855 for the French Consul was called 'Passy', named after a precinct in Paris. Members of the Marist order established a base to serve their Pacific missions and built St Joseph's College for Boys in 1882.
Charles Jeanneret, born in Sydney in 1834, began building in Hunters Hill around 1858. He is also known for running the ferry service along the Parramatta River. These houses constructed by early settlers include over 1200 items of heritage preserved in the Hunters Hill area and surrounding areas.
Hunters Hill is a delightful, harbour peninsular suburb isolated by the Lane Cove and Parramatta Rivers. Hunters Hill is an island of gracious homes set on large blocks to take the best advantage of superb water views. Visitors can share these views from strategically placed riverside parks and reserves. Local wharves connect Hunters Hill to the City and selective river and harbour locations.